PARCC: A Hard Drive’s A-Gonna Crash

Oh, where have you been, my schoolteachin’ son?

Oh, where have you been, my underpaid one?

I’ve stumbled in prep for online testin’ a’ plenty

I’ve read and I’ve calibrated seven vague standards

I’ve plunged in the depths of the mighty PARCC practices

I’ve stared in the dead eyes of countless dozen test takers

I’ve changed ten thousand lessons ‘cuz Skandera said so

And it’s a hard, and it’s a hard, it’s a hard and it’s a hard

And it’s a hard drive’s a-gonna crash.

 

Oh, what did you see, my schoolteachin’ son?

Oh, what did you see, my underpaid one?

I saw a newborn sixth grader filled with the test worry

I saw a gold highway of school funding bequeathed to corporations

I saw 19 school classrooms changed into just tech labs

I saw countless computers with no student ever on ’em

I saw harried counselors runnin’ whose job’s now just testin’

I saw ten thousand teachers with their lessons all broken

I saw true learnin’ and experience taken away from young children

And it’s a hard, and it’s a hard, it’s a hard and it’s a hard

And it’s a hard drive’s a-gonna crash.

 

And what did you hear, my schoolteachin’ one?

And what did you hear, my underpaid one?

I heard the sound of a thunder, it roared out a warnin’

Heard the roar of a wave that will drown all the learnin’

Heard one hundred Pearson sales folks whose tongues were a-blazin’

Heard ten thousand teachers whisperin’ and nobody listenin’

Heard one kid opt-out, I heard many principals laughin’

Heard the song of a test hater who died in her observation

Heard the sound of a wonderful teaching clown who now works for Intel

And it’s a hard, and it’s a hard, it’s a hard and it’s a hard

And it’s a hard drive’s a-gonna crash.

 

Oh, who did you meet, my schoolteachin’ son?

Who did you meet, my underpaid one?

I met a young child beside a dead art project

I met a white Apple thrown into a black salvage trash can

I met a young teacher whose education values were burning

I met a young 7th Grade girl, she gave me some real hope

I met one man beautifully wounded in classroom discussion

I met another man who was senselessly wounded by VAM

And it’s a hard, and it’s a hard, it’s a hard and it’s a hard

And it’s a hard drive’s a-gonna crash.

 

Oh, what’ll you do now, my schoolteachin’ son?

And what’ll you do now, my underpaid one?

I’m a leavin’ my school now before online testin’ goes crazy

I’ll walk to the site of my closest Pearson sales office

Where the employees are plenty and their hands always full of money

Where the pellets of PARCC poison are flooding their bottom line

Where the Common Core meets with the false god of “data”

Where the cut score’s face is always well hidden

Where creativity is ugly, where critical thinking’s forgotten

Where green is the color, where billions in profit the number

And I’ll tell it and think it and speak it and breathe it

And reflect it to the stock market so all stockholders can see it

Then I’ll stand at the Board meeting until I start sinkin’

But I’ll know my plea well before Security takes me in hand cuffs

And it’s a hard, and it’s a hard, it’s a hard and it’s a hard

And it’s a hard drive’s a-gonna crash.

Leave a Reply

